Music News

Nicki Minaj just surpassed her former Young Money labelmate Drake with the most No.1 hits on on the Digital Songs Sales chart following her feature on the “Princess Diana” (Remix) with Ice Spice. Nicki and Ice Spice dropped the “Princess Diana” (Remix) earlier this month. This was Ice Spice’s first No. 1 hit and Nicki’s 14th. The song currently sits at No.4 on the Billboard Hot 100. She now has more Top 10 hits on the Hot 100 chart than any woman rapper.

According to Revolt, “Princess Diana” (Remix) is a first for two co-billed women in the list’s 34-year history, with the collaboration reaching a historic No. 1 on Billboard’s Hot Rap Songs chart. At No. 10 was her single “Boy’s A Liar, Pt. 2” with PinkPantheress.

Ice Spice hit a new personal record of her own this year. This is the first time the artist has had two songs in the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100 simultaneously. Her “Princess Diana” collab partner was one of the first to congratulate the Bronx native on the feat.

RELATED: Nicki Minaj Gives Advice To Her Younger Self

“Y’all,” Minaj told fans. “Two songs in the top 10 is crazy! Congratulations! Princess Ice Spice. ‘Princess Diana.’ Barbz. Munchkins. Stay tuned. Love you guys so much.”

“Thanks, queen. We eatin’ good tonight!” Spice retweeted the message.

The original “Princess Diana” arrived on Ice Spice’s debut EP Like..? back in January. The six-track EP included previously released singles “Bikini Bottom,” “In Ha Mood,” and her breakout hit “Munch (Feeln’ U).” The project also included “Actin A Smoochie,” and “Gangsta Boo” featuring Lil Tjay, the only guest appearance on her project.

Ice Spice previously told Billboard that she is inspired by Nicki Minaj, Cardi B, Lil’ Kim, Erykah Badu, “all of the greats.”

“It’s them being from New York of course,” she said. “That New York swag and aggression and bad bitchness. [Laughs.] When it comes to Lauryn and Erykah, they give a graceful angelic vibe of timeless beauty. All of them are icons.”

Take a look at the “Princess Diana” remix video featuring Ice Spice and Nicki Minaj below:

The Best Hip-Hop and R&B Songs Of March 2023

  • "Red Ruby Da Sleeze" - Nicki Minaj

    Nicki Minaj dropped “Red Ruby Da Sleeze” last month which interpolates the 2003 hit “Never Leave You” by Lumidee. Nicki seemingly called out Megan Thee Stallion with the lines “700 on them horses when we fixin’ to leave/ But I don’t fuck with horses since Christopher Reeve” and “That .40 cal a make ’em dance like a go-go,” which could be in reference to Tory Lanez allegedly shooting Megan in the foot while shouting, “Dance, bitch, dance!” “Red Ruby Da Sleeze” debuted at No. 1 on Billboard’s Hot Rap Songs chart.

  • "Dogtooth" - Tyler, The Creator

    Tyler, The Creator dropped his deluxe version of Call Me If You Get Lost titled the Estate Sale last month. Prior to the release of the album, he dropped “Dogtooth.” Tyler wrote on Twitter that “Dogtooth” was one of the songs that “didn’t make the cut” when finalizing his Grammy-winning LP. Tyler has three guest features on the deluxe LP with a Vince Staples-assisted “Stuntman,” “Boyfriend, Girlfriend” with YG, while A$AP Rocky joins the Odd Future rapper “Wharf Talk.”

  • "Area Codes" - Kali

    Kali dropped “Area Codes” last month and had the song trending all over TikTok. In the record she raps about having a different guy providing for her in various places around the world. “Area Codes” follows the Georgia rapper’s “Dangerous” freestyle she dropped in January.

  • "Float" - Janelle Monáe

    Following Janelle Monáe’s stunning performance in Glass Onion, the Kansas City native has gone back to music with her release of “Float.” She teased the song in a video using photos from her island vacation. The song catches Monáe being open about a transitional period where a newfound confidence has emerged.

  • "Ain't Gonna Answer" - NLE Choppa and Lil Wayne

    NLE Choppa and Lil Wayne linked up for “Ain’t Gonna Answer” last month. The song will be featured on Choppa’s next project titled Cottonwood II. This was the first time the two rappers collaborated. Cottonwood II is set to be dropped on April 14.

  • "What It Is (Block Boy)" - Doechii feat. Kodak Black

    Doechii enlisted Kodak Black for “What It Is (Block Boy).” The song samples the 2004 “Some Cut” by Trillville feat. Cutty and interlopes TLC’s 1999 classic “No Scrubs.” This is Doechii’s first single of 2023. Kodak has been featured in quite a few songs in 2023 including “I Remember” with Roddy Ricch, “Colors” with Trippie Redd, “King Snipe” with Gucci Mane, and “Can’t Stop Won’t Stop Remix” with King Combs.

  • "Boom, Pt .2" - Mello Buckzz ft. Latto

    Mello Buckzz enlisted Latto for “Boom Pt. 2.” The original song titled “Boom” featured Amari Blaze, Moni Da G, and Kashh Mir. For the music video, Latto used her feature to clap back at haters while she twerked in her cheetah print thong that made headlines back in January. After a fan called her out for seemingly wearing the same pair, the Atlanta native claried that she has a drawer full of them on Instagram Live.

  • "Creepin' Remix" - Metro Boomin, The Weeknd, Diddy, & 21 Savage

    Metro Boomin brought out Diddy to help out with the remix to “Creepin'” which also features The Weeknd and 21 Savage. The original song is found on Metro’s 2022 project titled Heroes & Villains. “Creepin'” however has remained a standalone hit from the album spent over 10 weeks on the Billboard Hot 100. A remix with Diddy makes sense since Metro sampled the Bad Boy Records founder’s 2004 hit “I Don’t Wanna Know” with Mario Winans featuring Enya and himself.

  • "Don't Play With It Remix" - Lola Brooke ft. Latto and Yung Miami

    Lola Brooke took her 2021 hit and got Latto and City Girls’ Yung Miami to hop on for a verse. The original “Dont Play With It” features Billy B. This is Lola’s second single of 2023 as she also dropped “So Disrespectful.”

  • "Cheatback" - Chlöe Bailey ft. Future

    Chlöe Bailey put Future on “Cheatback” which is off her debut solo album In Pieces. The song details Chlöe being fed up about having to deal with her boyfriend cheating so she decides to do the same thing. In Pieces also features contributions from Chris Brown and Missy Elliott.

Sign me up for the HOT 95.5/93.1 email newsletter!

Join the HOT VIP Club and you'll get the hottest throwback hip-hop and R&B news, plus insider info on upcoming concerts, contests, and ways to get cash in your pocket!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.