Music News

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA - JUNE 26: (L-R) DDG and Halle Bailey attend the 2022 BET Awards at Microsoft Theater on June 26, 2022 in Los Angeles, California.

Halle Bailey and DDG began trending on social media when fans found out that they unfollowed one another on social media. Fans quickly took it as them breaking up. However, DDG’s ex-rapper Rubi Rose added fuel to the fire when she tweeted a message writing, “having ur bitch [wear] my clothes is crazy lol,” alluding to a shirt the Ungodly Hour singer was seen wearing on Instagram. Rubi then clarified her tweet saying that it wasn’t supposed to be a dig at Halle. “I like Halle, Ddg a weirdo tho fasho,” she tweeted.

It got more heated when Rose allegedly exposed DMs between her and DDG. She captioned the screenshot “This is why I’m single.”

“U still in la?,” DDG allegedly wrote to Rubi via DM. “Yeah,” she responded. “wyo (what you on),” he said. “Getting ready hbu (how about you),” she wrote adding, “U hitting me the day y’all argue is so you.” DDG responded, “lol u right, lemme heal first.”

However, Halle hopped on Twitter to let fans know that her relationship is fine.

“The devil is working,” she wrote in a since-deleted tweet. “Lol please don’t feed into the lies, especially from a third party. Stay blessed everyone.” In a quote retweet, DDG expressed, “Can y’all let my meat go now. Rubi is a weirdo. She been hating on my relationship for years.”

Bailey and DDG sparked dating rumors when they were spotted at an Usher concert in January 2022. They made their relationship on Instagram official in March of the same year.

The Best Hip-Hop and R&B Songs Of January 2023

  • "Gangsta Boo" - Ice Spice ft. Lil Tjay

    For her debut EP, Like..? Ice Spice tapped in fellow Bronx rapper Lil Tjay for “Gangsta Boo.” The track sample’s Diddy’s “I Need a Girl (Part 2).” “Gangsta Boo” is Ice Spice’s first Billboard Hot 100 chart entry at #82.

  • "Without You" - Quavo

    Quavo pours his heart out on the emotional tribute to the late Takeoff on “Without You.” In the music video, Quavo is seen smoking in the studio as the track plays behind him. This is Quavo’s first song since Takeoff’s death on Nov. 1, 2022.

  • "Same Problems?" - A$AP Rocky

    On the anniversary of A$AP Yams’ death (Jan. 15), A$AP Rocky released his first single of 2023, titled “Same Problems?” The track pays tribute to those who’ve recently died. In the song, he calls out the intention of actually getting involved to stop senseless killings in the community.

  • "Pray It Away" - Chlöe

    “Pray It Away” finds Chlöe regretting a previous relationship and wanting to focus on healing. The song is part of her rollout leading to her debut LP In Pieces which is set to be released in March.

  • "Procrastination (Broke)" - J. Cole

    J. Cole surprised fans by dropping “Procrastination (Broke)” to a Brooklyn producer’s YouTube channel this month. In the song, Cole raps about still having the habit of putting things off in adulthood.

  • "Two Tens" - Cordae ft. Anderson .paak

    Cordae and Anderson .paak teamed up for their latest single “Two Tens.” In the music video, both artists are seen in the club rapping back and forth in conversation about two friends. J. Cole and Dem Jointz produced the song.

  • "Sucka Or Sum" - Rae Sremmurd

    In “Sucka Or Sum” Rae Sremmurd raps about refusing to be played. SremmLife 4 doesn’t have a release date but the sibling duo will most likely have this track on the long-awaited album.

  • "Tally" - Midwxst and Denzel Curry

    Midwxst and Denzel Curry teamed up for “Tally” this month. Just like the artists, the music video gives a unique twist on the 1942 classic film Casablanca.

  • Knight Crawler - Trippie Redd ft. JuiceWRLD

    Trippie Redd taps in a posthumous feature from JuiceWRLD on “Knight Crawler.” This track appears on Trippie Redd’s album Mansion Musik that debuted at No. 3 on the Billboard 200 chart.

  • "If I Stop Now" - EST Gee

    “If I Stop Now” is just one of the singles EST Gee has dropped in 2023. The Louisville native also released “Blow Up” on January 27. “If I Stop Now,” is more of a melodic rap song from him where he addresses his mental health in contrast to his fame. “Blow Up” has an opposite vibe with booming 808s.

Sign me up for the HOT 95.5/93.1 email newsletter!

Join the HOT VIP Club and you'll get the hottest throwback hip-hop and R&B news, plus insider info on upcoming concerts, contests, and ways to get cash in your pocket!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.