The number of candidates qualifying to run for mayor of Augusta stood at five at the close of the day Tuesday, day two of the qualifying period.

The candidates include Richmond County School Board President Charlie Hannah and school trustee A.K. Hasan.  Other qualifiers include Robert Ingham, Garnett Johnson and Lucas Johnson.

A dozen Augusta Commission candidates have qualified including five running the for the District 2 seat currently held by Dennis Williams.  He has indicated he plans to run for mayor, but hasn’t filed paperwork yet.  Qualifying ends Friday.

Story courtesy of Mary Liz Nolan with WGAC.